Trek 1.7 C 2009 are they any good?

320DMsport
320DMsport Posts: 306
edited July 2009 in Road beginners
HI all,

Road bike newbie here.

I'm a MTB chap myself but i'm finding i'm riding my carbon hardtail more and more on the road fro training for events.

So kind of figured i should invest in a road bike to train on and do the odd sportive.

I have trek bikes already and kind of like them but i wasn't wanting to spend a fortune on a road bike really.

After looking around the Trek 1.7C looks quite nice and has 105 on it carbon fork etc.

Firstly is 105 any good?

What weight is the 1.7

And how much benefit or would it feel alot diff from my carbon hartail on slicks weighing in at 23 lb?

Are there any other alternatives?

Thanks in advance.

Comments

• DaveyL
    DaveyL Posts: 5,167
    I don't know about this bike specifically, but Trek make pretty good bikes in general. I am more of a Specialized fanboy though... In that price bracket you are probably looking at a Specialized Allez as competition - they are great bikes. I dunno, maybe in the 2008 bike sales you could get a carbon fibre Tarmac for around a grand or just under.

The 105 groupset is really good and the shifting is smooth and solid, provided you have it set up well and maintained well.

I think you will definitely see a benefit, even though the weight difference might only be a few pounds. 700x23s at 110-120 psi will roll much better than slicks on an MTB. Then again it depends on just how good a carbon fibre frame you've got for your hardtail and how good the fork lockout is (on my Rockshox Recon I reckon it still uses about 20% of full travel locked out on the road).
    Le Blaireau (1)
  • SBezza
    SBezza Posts: 2,173
    I have a 2008 Trek 1.7, and the 105 is a good groupset. I am not sure of the weight, I could weigh it tonight to see, but it is going to be lighter than your hardtail.

Try and test ride one.
  • Yep, love my 1.7, good value for money
    Is it raining yet?
  • bice