Yep need help to go Ti or CF on new bike.

Woody68
Woody68 Posts: 18
edited October 2008 in Workshop
Sorry to bring this up.

I am fairly new to road riding but have been MTBing on/off since late 80's. I have got a Felt F65 triple which I am pleased with. But I am 85 - 90 kgs and tend to stick to the narrow roads so the felt is taking a pounding and would love to link up rides using bridal ways. Love the speed of a road bike so don't want to revert to semi slicks on the hard tail MTB. Currently ride 30+ 3 to 5 times a week. Hoping to up that to a couple of 50+ with the odd 75 - 100 when legs/lungs are up to it.

Thinking about a cyclocross bike and have c.2K to spend (don't tell the wife). Have been to many LBS shops around the SE asking for advice but seem to get a different answer depending on what bikes they sell. Supprise supprise. Checked out forums reviews etc but cannot find recent augument on pros cons of each material.

I have rode neither yet but hope to get to London show on 9th. Has anyone got advice struggling to make a decesion.

looking at
Scot Addict CX
Litespeed Crosser
VN Amazon cross
Ridley X fire/night
Kona Major Jake (not sure if going to be harsh ride)

Any others I should look at.

Appreciate any and all help. :shock:
Willier mortirillo cross
Confirmed bike addict.

Intense 5.5 EVP
Yeti 575
On one inbred
Felt F65

Comments

• maddog 2
    maddog 2 Posts: 8,114
    ti crosser must be a good bet

I've got an Airborne Carpe Diem - the older version of the VN Amazon - and it's excellent. With the light wheels it's a good road/sportive bike - light, comfy, very nice ride. Yet with winter wheels it will take a battering on tracks and the like.

I think for the money it's a very strong option. Also disc compatible if you want to go that route.

I wouldn't go back to alu now 8)
    Facts are meaningless, you can use facts to prove anything that's remotely true! - Homer
  • Ken Night
    Ken Night Posts: 2,005
    Nice dilemma to have