7-speed cassette to 8-speed

stfc1
stfc1 Posts: 505
edited September 2008 in Workshop
Hi all,

I have a neglected old Raleigh that I am thinking of sprucing up to function as a winter bike. It currently has a well worn 7-speed Shimano cassette that needs to be replaced. If I replace it with an 8-speed, will the current and original RSX shifters be able to cope? The more bits I'm likely to have to replace, and the less cheap the spruce up option becomes, the more likely I will be to just dip into the second-hand bike market.

Sorry if this is a stupid question but I'm a total novice when it comes to bike mechanics, and thanks in advance for any help.

Comments

• maddog 2
    maddog 2 Posts: 8,114
    7 to 8 is a bit messy, You need a new freehub, new cassette and becasue the 8 speed cassette+freehub is wider then you'll need to re-dish the wheel to get the new freehub on and keep the rim central.

Plus your shifters only have 7 clicks so getting the extra gear might be tricky. I know 7-speed thumbies could be made to go 8-speed but I'm not sure the shifting was spot-on.

For a winter bike I'd just keep the 7 speed on. You can still get hold of cassettes last time I checked.
    Facts are meaningless, you can use facts to prove anything that's remotely true! - Homer
  • redvee
    redvee Posts: 11,922
    7 speed casette is narrower than 8 speed so you can either change the freehub body and redish the wheel or buy a new wheel, plus new shifters. Be cheaper in the long run for new bike IMHO.
    I've added a signature to prove it is still possible.
  • stfc1
    stfc1 Posts: 505
    Thanks to you both, sounds like a job too far to me. Perhaps I'll see if I can find a new 7-speed cassette on Ebay...

The reason for wanting an extra gear is that my chainset is a 53-42 and my legs aren't as young as they were. I'm not sure whether fitting a compact would cause problems with shifting, but could swapping the inner ring to a 39 be a fairly hassle-free option?