I'm scared of my Bianchi!

faffer
faffer Posts: 8
edited October 2008 in Road beginners
I just did a training outing and broke 40mph on my Bianchi for the first time (i'm pretty new to road biking), halfway down the hill the front wheel just started snaking (or at least that's what i'm calling it), basically it was wiggling from side to side uncontrollably, if I braked it made it worse - even if I used the back brakes! I was just getting faster and faster and the wiggling was getting worse and worse and the tarmac was looking more and more like it wanted to become part of my body! I held it through sheer strength/utter luck and forunately arrived at the bottom in one piece. Nothing on the bike was loose (apart from my bowels) and as far as I can see there's nothing 'wrong' with the bike.

It shook me up and now I feel I can't trust the bike, on the ride I did today I got to about 35 and it started doing it again but I managed to catch it in time. Have others had this? Are certain bikes known to be bad for it? Surely manufacturers shouldn't be selling bikes that scare the living cr@p out of people - me in particular!?

Comments

• feel
    feel Posts: 800
    Is the bike new ? if so take it back to the shop and explain what has been happening - there are various things they can check.
    We are born with the dead:
    See, they return, and bring us with them.
  • Is the headset loose? I don't mean the actual stem, but the headset bearings. Is there play at the headseat bearings, top or bottom?
    --
    Burls Ti Tourer for Tarmac, Saracen aluminium full suss for trails
  • sounds wierd...had my Bianchi up to about 30ish today and rock solid. Something on yours is definately not right, get it professionally checked over if nothing obvious is bent. broken or has movement that it shouldn't in a direction it shouldnt be able to move in

Hope you get it sorted, being on or in anything you don't trust at speed is definately not good!

David
  • nicklouse