Lower back stress - bad posture?

Cantdosleepy
Cantdosleepy Posts: 122
edited September 2008 in Commuting chat
I'm just getting into commuting on a battered old fixie. After riding my lower back often feels a little strained. It's not painfuly exactly - I'm just aware that I've been using the muscles there in a different way than I'm used to.

The question is, is this fine? After a few weeks will I have built up some lower back muscle and this tiredness will disappear? Or am I riding in the wrong position and causing future problems for myself?

If it's a back problem waiting to happen, what's the likely culprit? Saddle too high or low? Handlebars to distant?

Any thoughts would be appreciated!

Comments

• AndyManc
    AndyManc Posts: 1,393
    Were you physically active before you started cycling ?

I always have backache after cycling but then again my back is cream crackered.

It could be bad posture/poor set up or it might be as you said, your body reacting to not being exercised.

Check out the 'bike set up' videos on you-tube.
    Specialized Hardrock Pro/Trek FX 7.3 Hybrid/Specialized Enduro/Specialized Tri-Cross Sport
    URBAN_MANC.png
  • Coriander
    Coriander Posts: 1,326
    It's also likely to be that your core muscles around your spine are not very strong. Pilates is brilliant at targeting this area, so try a few classes and see if that helps.

I speak as one who also suffers from lower back ache - it's partly them not being used to being in that position for a while as well, and does get a bit better. But I do recommend Pilates.
  • Thanks for the tips, guys!

I've not been massively physically active before the commuting, no.
  • Could be just that you're getting used to cycling again, or that your seat is too low which places more pressure on your spine and spinal area as you'e leaning back more. It's a common occurrence for many riders' seats to be too low, so look up some info on that, a fairly quick fix, may be the solution :)
  • cjcp