Just bought my first MTB

Wacky Racer
Wacky Racer Posts: 638
edited September 2008 in MTB beginners
Hi all, I'm not only new to this forum, I'm new to mountain biking. I have just purchased a Kona Blast 2009 model, I managed to get what I think was a really good deal as the cycling shop couldn't get me the 2008 model, so gave me a good discount. Hopefully I've spent well, as my budget was under £500. The bike cost me £425. I'd be interested to hear reviews from fellow Blast owners.

I'm itching to get off road and have some fun, but need to get my fitness up first. I'm 47 years old, and whilst not much overweight, need to build my stamina back up. I'm after advice on how to gradually improve my fitness, should I use my bike on the roads near to me first before I venture off road? I live in a rural area, so my plan was to tackle the flatter lanes first, then go for the local hills, then go off road.

Any useful tips would be appreciated.
Ridley Orion

Comments

• -liam-
    -liam- Posts: 1,831
    Welcome to the Kona Club ;)

I've got a fire mountain which I think is excellent and I'm addicted to getting muddy now. Looking to get a blast but more likely a cindercone next year :)
  • stumpyjon
    stumpyjon Posts: 4,069
    Not a bad bike, I believe MBR magazine rated it very highly in group test earlier this year. You did well to get a discount on an 09 model at this time of year.

Training plan sounds fine, you need a basic level of fitness to ride off road and enjoy it. Starting on the roads is a good idea, you'll quickly build up some fitness. Try and ride off road as well if you can but don't get too despondant if at first it feels very hard. Don't forget riding in mud and on uneven surfaces is much more difficult than on tarmac.

Little and often is a good strategy, too many people go at it like a bull at a gate in the first few weeks and then the bike gets relegated to the garage (good bargins on Ebay though).