bike theft

twofourfour
twofourfour Posts: 2
edited September 2008 in The bottom bracket
Hey chaps,

I'm a student at Glasgow School of art and for our year project we've been asked to design something to reduce the risk of bike theft.

Carrying on from the already useful thread by ROBBARKER i'd be interested to know what you currently use to secure your bikes and how successful you think this is?

Also the guy who lives down the road from me chains his bike to the railings upside down, any one else do this and does it offer any advantages? i'll need to ask him next time i see him

Thanks

Comments

• upside down makes it easier to remove wheels!

Alarm systems seem to be the best way to deter people
  • A sticker on your bike saying
    'If you touch my bike I'll hunt you down and break your nasty pikey skull open'
    The gear changing, helmet wearing fule.
    FCN :- -1
    Given up waiting for Fast as Fupp to start stalking me
  • Hey chaps,

I'm a student at Glasgow School of art and for our year project we've been asked to design something to reduce the risk of bike theft.

Carrying on from the already useful thread by ROBBARKER i'd be interested to know what you currently use to secure your bikes and how successful you think this is?

Also the guy who lives down the road from me chains his bike to the railings upside down, any one else do this and does it offer any advantages? i'll need to ask him next time i see him

Thanks

244 - Not sure about the whole upside down strategy - just gives you a chance to get dog poo on your saddle.
    I prefer:
    An Arbus rope type locked around a solid object, Nelson's Column etc etc.
    In bike racks I look to lock mine near a more desirable, newer looking bike.
    I never leave it for longer than 10mins.

Still - I've had two bikes stolen - never to to be seen again. The police simply couldn't give a toss. Therein lies the problem.

Good luck with your project.
  • chuckcork
    chuckcork Posts: 1,471