RTA: What would you do?

lucullus
lucullus Posts: 20
edited October 2008 in Commuting chat
Hi all,

I'm a relative newbie to the forum, but had a good look through other tales of woe and joy from commuting ...

It was in May - 3 days before my birthday - and I'm rushing to work after a Governor's meeting that ran over. I'm on the South Circular, which has - at this point - quite broad, clearly marked cycle lanes.

So, doing almost 20mph, I think, I'm approaching a road on my left. It's my right of way, and I carry on regardless, when suddenly someone has turned right across the front of me. I cannon into the rear quarter and go flying, with a nice piece of Golf breaklight embedded in my knee.

Apparently the traffic on my side had stopped to let her turn, although I fail to see why that precluded her from looking for me. Anyway, off to hospital for 11 stitches in my knee, and a written off bike following in the panda.

The insurers have an 'independent witness' who claims it was my fault, and since there is only one witness statement, the police decided to 'no further action' the whole thing.

So my question is this: would you appoint solicitors and pursue it, or just write it off as a major league mess and be pleased about a new bike? For myself, I'm very pissed indeed, but not sure of the economic value of pursuing it right now ...

Comments

• Littigator
    Littigator Posts: 1,262
    So just to check are the drivers insurance company pursuing you for anything at all e.g. damage to the car etc?

Or are they offering the new bike or is that something you'll have to pay out for?
    Roadie FCN: 3

Fixed FCN: 6
  • Blimey, sorry to hear about your incident, people turning without looking is a real fear of mine, especially when there's a gap in the traffic for them, as I always worry that a) they won't look for me and b) someone might argue that I should have seen teh gap in traffic and stopped.