My first birthday........

lexiekay
lexiekay Posts: 379
edited September 2008 in MTB beginners
Not mine obviously, but in a couple of weeks it'll be a year since i started riding mountain bikes. I'm still loving it, but feel as though i may have reached a sort of plateau when it comes to both skill levels and fitness.
Coinciding quite nicely with the birthday celebrations, we're going on a trip next weekend for four days, and the plan is to ride Brechfa, Coed-y-Brenin, the Climachx trail, and Llandegla.
Anyone got any tips on these trails? I've ridden the MBR and Tarw trails at Coed-y-Brenin before but none of the others. And i really want to get the most out of the trip.
Also, anyone else have that 'plateau' feeling? And how do you get beyond it? I'm worried that I may never get over the slightly scared feeling which sometimes stops me from going as fast as i could..... :oops:

Comments

• batch78
    batch78 Posts: 1,320
    Not ridden any of the trails so can't help there, sorry!

As for plateauing, I usually set myself a goal, extra long ride etc, and then have something to aim towards, extra training, eating properly for more than a couple of days and the such like, last time I just bought a road bike though! :oops:

Does give me an extra dimension to my training now and means I don't get bored of the same local routes, which can only be good.
  • I would say to get the most from it. Make shure that you take a well equipped tool and spares box ( brake pads, gear cables rear hangers break leavers new cleates if you use spds) the last thing you want it so have a silly off, break something simple and then spend a day or 1/2 a day searching hte local bike shops for some replacement.
    Get a good high in protine shake to drink as soon as you finish on hte trails. This will help you legs recover for the next day.
    As for the platu of skills you could try a skills day b4 you go or even while you are in wales.