What's that behind me?

Phekdra
Phekdra Posts: 137
edited October 2008 in Road beginners
I've been riding a road bike for about six months now, and I think I've just about got the hang of making it go in a straight line. However, I've been thinking about entering some Sportives next year and maybe even joining a club :shock: , but what's putting me off is my complete inability to ride whilst looking over my shoulder. Whenever I do so (checking for cars etc) I wobble all over the place, putting at risk anyone foolish enough to be riding near me. Embarrassingly, I nearly ended up in a hedge whilst checking the progress of my other half, and she now has the impression that I'm a totally hopeless bike handler.

Is there some kind of technique to it? Something along the lines of where to steer or hold the bars or put your bum whilst looking behind. I do sit back in the saddle and try and grip the tops near the stem if I'll not need to brake. Or is it something that I'll just have to practise, as in riding all the way to work just looking in a hand-held mirror?

I'm pretty unsteady at riding with no hands too (unzipping my jersey at speed was the most terrifying thing I've done on a bike - and that was with no cars around), so perhaps I just lack balance.

By the way, if Coriander is reading - I just wore my 3/4 tights home from work and you're right, I do look damn sexy! :D

Phekdra

Comments

• whyamihere
    whyamihere Posts: 7,700
    Get yourself some rollers and practice doing it indoors. If you can manage it on rollers, you'll be able to do it bullet straight on road without a problem.