Over 50 mph??

nipon
nipon Posts: 68
edited September 2008 in Road beginners
Hi everyone,ive been cycling for about two months now and i have been trying to improve my top speed of 41.9mph coming down Mugely hill in wedmoor.I have heard loads of cyclists say they can get over 50 but i just cant seem to pedel any faster,is it that they are just fitter than me or are some bikes geared diferent,mine is a Bianchi with mirage 10 speed.Also ive been told that if i get some better wheels it will make me faster,dous it realy make that much diference?

Comments

• Tyres with lower rolling resistance will make you faster.
    Same with wheels really.

The gear ratios will also pay a small part in it.
  • mididoctors
    mididoctors Posts: 16,646
    don't worry about it the majority are probably exaggerating..

I have only achieved such speeds coming off a mountain

be safe before fast...
    "If I was a 38 year old man, I definitely wouldn't be riding a bright yellow bike with Hello Kitty disc wheels, put it that way. What we're witnessing here is the world's most high profile mid-life crisis" Afx237vi Mon Jul 20, 2009 2:43 pm
  • gavintc
    gavintc Posts: 3,009
    I have hit 51mph, but that was pure gravity. I was not pedalling - just flying down Ventoux with a massive grin.
  • 53.5 mph off the back of the trundel at chichester, body positioning has a huge part to play in fast desceneding.
  • I went past someone who had 49.2mph on their computer. Wish I'd put mine on when he told me, considering how fast I went past him! He said I looked a bit like this: :shock:
    You can get those types of speeds, but as mididoctors says, you'll only get that off really steep slopes. Oh and not using brakes helps too...
    p.s. Below is a picture of me atop the 'mountain' in Menorca. I think you could get over 50mph going down, but my nerve gave out at 40mph. The bikes not mine, but I got a faster top speed than the bloke who owned the bike :lol: peed him off a little bit...