Right frame size

The Peddler
The Peddler Posts: 6
edited October 2008 in Road beginners
Looking to buy online and want to make sure I get it right. I am 5ft 7" tall and my inside leg is 29". Would I be right in saying I should look for a frame around the 20" mark ? Also say they were advertising frames at 50cm then 52cm my conversion of 20" is just short of 51cm would it be better to get the larger or smaller frame ? Thanks

Comments

• Hi

I found the following site useful for figuring out what size i needed: -

http://www.competitivecyclist.com/za/CC ... ATOR_INTRO

Hopefully this will help.
  • If you're uncertain it's better to pay a little more and buy from your LBS who will measure you properly.
    Carlsberg don't make cycle clothing, but if they did it would probably still not be as good as Assos
  • I'm a complete beginner as well m8, only just got my bike so I'm hardly qualified to give solid advice.

However.......after doing a good deal of research on here, it appears that there is quite a variation between manufacturers when it comes to frame sizing. One 54cm sized frame from "Manufacturer A" could actually be smaller or larger than a 54cm from "Manufacturer B".

I think, and this is just a personal opinion, that it's a bit dodgy purchasing online if you don't know what frame size you are. I'd say always go to a dealer and get measured up and fitted for the particular bike you are looking to buy.

You could even be really cheeky and visit an LBS to check frame sizes and then order online, but that wouldn't be cricket old chap!!!. 8)
    Ethernet (noun): Something used to catch the etherbunny.
    Road : Pinarello FP1 | MTB : Cube Acid 2010
  • Hi - answering as your about my size.