Help-rear wheel "wandering"

Big dave 3
Big dave 3 Posts: 304
edited September 2008 in Road beginners
Hi, I am a road newbie after some advice. I have been riding mountain bikes for 15 ish years, so I am used to these.

However, recently I thought that I would try a hybrid/racer:

http://www.falconcycles.co.uk/CORP/cb/levante.html

I am finding it hard to adjust with the hard ride/poor brakes but the handling seems very poor.

Going round bends/corners, the rear wheel seems to be "wandering/wobbling" & going all over the place. Thats the best that I can explain it sorry!

I have changed the tyres, upped the pressure to 80 psi. Problem still persists.

There is a slight buckle on the wheel. Its only slight & teh wheel seems to be about 2-3 mm at worst out here & there.

WOuld this cause teh rear wheel to feel like it's wobbling, or am I just used to thick mountain bike tyres that grip well?
/

Marin Team HT (customiosed commuter)

Boardman Team HT (customised commuter)

Giant Defy 1 2014.

Ribble Sportive Azzurro

Comments

• alfablue
    alfablue Posts: 8,497
    It could account for the wobble, as could poorly adjusted hubs. Road tyres grip far better than knobbly mtb tyres on the road.
  • Good point! I HAdnt thought about the hubs.

Well I have semi-slicks on my mountain bike (Specialized crossroads armadillo elite) & the bike grips brilliantly, in fact far better than the road bike.

I have continental contact reflex on the raod bike & I had Kenda tyres on before that. BOth had the wobble & I felt like I was going to fall off the bike when taking corners that the mountain bike would happily deal with
    /

Giant Defy 1 2014.

Ribble Sportive Azzurro
  • alfablue
    Is there any movement side to side if you grasp the wheel? That would indicate hubs.