Test Valley Tour - 31st August - OK for first-timer?

Hornetto
Hornetto Posts: 141
Hi,

I'm a road newbie, having bought an Allez Sport double road bike last month after years of mountain biking. I got the bug to get a road bike after commuting 125 miles to work in bike to work week in June. I'm thinking of entering my first sportive (although it's not strictly a sportive I guess) - the Test Valley Tour near Andover on 31st August for the 110km 'Challenge' route. I wan't to have a challenge in terms of distance as I've cycled up to 50 miles before but I think the 150km is a bit too much of a challenge for me at this stage!

A couple of questions:
1) is anyone else planning on doing the Test Valley Tour?
2) does anyone who's done it before know if it is well organised?
3) is an elevation of 1400m over 110km quite hilly, or not too bad? I'm not a huge fan of hills on the road bike yet and am still getting used to less hill-friendly gearing of the road bike over the MTB.
4) is there anything that I should try to do/avoid to make sure I last the 110km?

I'm quite excited about the prospect of doing it, but also slightly nervous that I'll mess up and not make the distance!
Thanks for the help.
Never argue with an idiot - they drag you down to their level and then beat you with experience

Comments

• SBezza
    SBezza Posts: 2,173
    I am doing the Test Valley Tour, I am doing the 150km route, it will be my first sportive, though I have ridden a 150km audax as well, so I have done the mileage.

It is quite hilly, I have rode some of the route on my mountain bike, before I got my road bike, but I think it should be fairly achievable for most riders.

For the cost of the event, I think you should just give it ago, I am pretty sure you will manage the distance, my furtherest ride before doing a 150km audax was 70miles, so the 110km route should be OK for you.
  • Hornetto