Yesterday's Ride - Future Riding Advice

jezcc
jezcc Posts: 111
edited September 2008 in Road beginners
I'm fairly new to this road riding malarkey (bike is now 11 days old!) I've done a bit of mountain biking here and there before this though.

I've done about 250km in my first 11 days including 2 'long' rides these were.

Bank holiday Monday - 64km around the Chilterns took 1.25 litres of Isostar and no solids with me and felt awful at around 50km. Struggled through the last 15km.

Yesterday - 115km around the Chilterns, took 1.25litrs of isostar, loads of brioche and 2 flapjacks, averaged 25.5kmh for the first 85km then became very tired and had to tiptoe home at an average of about 18kmh.

I assume that I bought myself another 35km of riding with my food and that if I want to do more than 85km still feeling healthy then all I need to do is lots of 85km rides and build up stamina?
FCN 4-6 depending

2008 Rocky Mountain ETSX
2008 Ribble

Comments

• mmmmmmmmmmmmmmmm.......................................brioche

when are you eating?
    'dont forget lads, one evertonian is worth twenty kopites'
  • It doesn't sound like you're drinking enough - 70 miles with just 1.25 litres isn't enough in my experience.
    Carlsberg don't make cycle clothing, but if they did it would probably still not be as good as Assos
  • mididoctors
    mididoctors Posts: 16,646
    couple of gels.. you'll be alright
    "If I was a 38 year old man, I definitely wouldn't be riding a bright yellow bike with Hello Kitty disc wheels, put it that way. What we're witnessing here is the world's most high profile mid-life crisis" Afx237vi Mon Jul 20, 2009 2:43 pm
  • jezcc
    I had a bite to eat about every 20km. Also, I had a big load of porridge for breakfast.

How can I get more drink? I could put 2 x 750ml bottles on the bike and get up to 1.5litres, but to get any more than that I'd need to buy some on the way round? Is that the idea?