Any riders in Hastings, East Sussex?

Old Git On A Bike
Old Git On A Bike Posts: 317
edited September 2008 in MTB rides
As suggsted by another member on here, I have looked in my local area for a cycling club, but I can only find one, and that's a roadies club.

Any other mtb riders in the Hastings area, or know of any good routes close by where I could tag along, I'm a beginner and not all that fit, average speed on flat cycle path is only around 10mph - 12mph at present, as I only recently got on a bike after many years of not riding, I don't want to do anything extreme, not that there is anything extreme in Hasting :D, but woods or trails close by, I wouldn't mind having a go at.
ogoabdotinfoin5.jpg

Comments

• collee
    collee Posts: 3
    hi i live in hastings and now the lighter evenings are approaching i will be trying to get out more often.

Maybe we could meet up sometimes for a spin

Colin
  • Hi Colin,

Sounds like a plan, what sort of places do you usually ride at in the Hastings area, and what sort of fitness level are you?

To give you an idea of my usual rides and fitness, see my topic here:

http://www.bikeradar.com/beginners/foru ... t=12553576

Today, I did my longest ride so far, which was 18 miles from Warrior Square to the far end of Bexhill, I came back part of the way, then went back to Bexhill and then home to Warrior Square, all pretty flat cycling (apart from going over Galley Hill) on tarmac and concrete.

I also found another Hastings cycling website which does group rides, might be of use to any others in this area:

http://www.hastingsurbanbikes.com/?q=node/7
    HUB will be organising rides on the second and fourth weekends of the month from around April onwards. If you would like to help lead a ride please contact Rides Organiser Melanie Bray tel: (01424) 721265.

Here is the provisional programme, but please do check back for updates!