prolapsed disc - how much would it hurt???

matthew34
matthew34 Posts: 13
Hi

A while ago I was in quite a lot of pain followign a back stain. The initial pain has died down but I still have an annoying pain and stiffness in my lower back that I'm worried is a disc probelm. It isn't debilitating but it is quite tender and my mobility is suffering.

However as I have little experience of disc related problems I don't know if this level of discomfort could signal a disc problem, or whether it is much more likely to be a muscle strain that I can start trying to sort out. My physio doesn't seem to think that it is disc realted but I can't help worrying that it might be.

I should say that after years of cycling (i'm 36) my hamstrings are in a terrible state and maybe this isn't helping with the back problem.

I appreciate that this is a tricky question but really I just want to hear from anybody that I might have some experience of persistent back problems or actual disc problems.

thanks
Matt

Comments

• Hi Matt

I currently have a lower back slipped disc. It started with a sore hamsring, so went for
    physio, 10 sessions later no change. He tried everything, stretching, tens machine, even
    traction! eventually went to see a consultant and had an MRI scan. Scan showed a slip disc
    which was pressing on my sciatic nerve hence a feeling of a pulled hamstring. The strange thing with mine is that the more I keep active and riding the better it is. I've read up loads on the problem and all say to keep active.

I'd suggest doing lots of stretching and above all go and get a scan just so you know exactly what the problem is.

Cheers
    Wayne
    PS I'm 37 so must be old age arghhhhhhhhhhhhhhhh! It'll never stop me ridin!!
  • thanks Wayne

I think that I'll take your advice and try and get an MRI to get to the bottom of this.

cheers
    M
  • brownbosh
    brownbosh Posts: 602