Tour of Britain- What to expect?

percyshaw
percyshaw Posts: 3
edited August 2008 in Pro race
Hi. Hope you folks don't mind a total novice posting here, and I hope I've found the correct part of your forum to post in. :?

I am the Deputy Head of a small primary school. I noticed today that Stage 4 of the Tour of Britain passes within 2 mins of the school so naturally I'd like to take the school out to develop the "Olympic and Cycling" Bug that the children are sure to have. The official site states that the riders should come by at around 11am. How accurate is this likely to be... what time should I get the kids roadside by?

What can I expect to see (I told you I was a novice)? Will their just be a few riders whizzing by within 30secs or is, as I expect, there a whole entourage of vehicles involved?

Finally the end of a climb section is about 10 mins walk away at High Habberley. Is it worth the walk (with kids) to see this?

Many, many thanks for your help. 8)

Comments

• There's a whole entourage of vehicles, so it's actually quite a spectacle for the kids even without the riders whizzing by.

I know last year a lot of schools were outside on the route cheering the race on, so I'm sure you'd definitely be encourage to, as they're our next (ok maybe next but one) generation of Olympic champions. Why don't you drop the guys at the ToB an email, as I'm sure they could be of help, as I know E.ON were running some sort of schools promotion for the race this year.

Don't know much about the climb at HH, is it steep etc, and I suspect that the kids would get as much out of the race from seeing it whizz past their school as they would from walking 10mins up the road. Plus it's not every sport where they'll be able to say that an Olympic champion came past their school while competing is it!
  • Noodley
    Noodley Posts: 1,725