Help with Hill climbing

Quaker
Quaker Posts: 3
edited August 2008 in Road beginners
Hello

I currently use a standard 53 39 chainring but am struggling with my climbs. I cannot really afford a compact and was looking at maybe changing the cassette (I currently have a 10-speed 11-28t) What size should I go for? Is it easy to fit for a total novice and will it make hill climbs much easier?

Thanks

Comments

• redddraggon
    redddraggon Posts: 10,862
    If you use the search function of the forums there's loads of similar threads asking the same question as yours.
    I like bikes...

Twitter
    Flickr
  • dennisn
    dennisn Posts: 10,601
    Quaker wrote:
    Hello

I currently use a standard 53 39 chainring but am struggling with my climbs. I cannot really afford a compact and was looking at maybe changing the cassette (I currently have a 10-speed 11-28t) What size should I go for? Is it easy to fit for a total novice and will it make hill climbs much easier?

Thanks

You are probably at the rear mech's limit with a 28 tooth cog, meaning it won't shift to anything bigger.
    If you're running a Shimano crank you can mount a 38 tooth small ring on the front. It's
    not much but "every little bit...". With Campy the smallest front is a 39. You can mount a
    MTB rear mech on the bike and it will handle up to a 34 tooth rear cog but you will need to find a manufacturer or supplier of loose 10 speed cogs(I once bought some from Harris
    Cyclery here in the states). If you're running Shimano you can buy MTB cassettes up to
    34 teeth, only problem is they are 9 speed. Compact is the way to go. If you look, there
    are bunches of them out there and quite a few with reasonable pricing.

Dennis Noward
  • topdude
    topdude Posts: 1,557
    Hi, if you have 53/39 chainrings then you most likely have a short cage rear mech, this means you cannot go bigger than a 28 tooth cassette.