Sports Drinks - Loosing Weight

Andrew_J
Andrew_J Posts: 142
edited August 2008 in Road beginners
Hi All,
Just looking for a little advice on the above topic, I am new to road biking been a MTB rider for a while.
I am trying to loose some weight to make the uphill etc easier therefore what i am wondering is if i drink sports drinks during my rides am I slowing the rate which I will loses weight as I am burning the sports drinks rather than fat?
I understand i need to Hydrate so should i be drinking water rather than say SIS drinks?
I went out on Saturday and covered 31 miles in 2hrs and just took one bottle of SIS Go with me, I felt pretty pleased with that but was wondering should i be drinking water until i hit my target weight?

Question 2 if I should be using sports drinks is looking at the web site I should probably be using PSP22 rather than Go which is more aimed at summer riding? which we don’t seem to have one (summer).

Thanks for any advice.

Thanks for any advice.

Comments

• fuzzynavel
    fuzzynavel Posts: 718
    edited August 2008
    Andrew_J wrote:
    Hi All,
    Just looking for a little advice on the above topic, I am new to road biking been a MTB rider for a while.
    I am trying to loose some weight to make the uphill etc easier therefore what i am wondering is if i drink sports drinks during my rides am I slowing the rate which I will loses weight as I am burning the sports drinks rather than fat?
    I understand i need to Hydrate so should i be drinking water rather than say SIS drinks?
    I went out on Saturday and covered 31 miles in 2hrs and just took one bottle of SIS Go with me, I felt pretty pleased with that but was wondering should i be drinking water until i hit my target weight?

Question 2 if I should be using sports drinks is looking at the web site I should probably be using PSP22 rather than Go which is more aimed at summer riding? which we don’t seem to have one (summer).

Thanks for any advice.

Thanks for any advice.