Complete newbie. Help needed

CjbScotland
CjbScotland Posts: 28
edited August 2008 in MTB beginners
Hey i am new to this whole MTB scene and have not had a bike since i was in my younger years. So, with your help i would like some help with knowing which bike is better than an other. I have looked at the "Which bike" topic?" and noticed the Carrera Vulcan has good reviews. What i would like to know is. Is this a good beginners bike or is there a better one. I plan on spending about £400. Also i would find it very useful if someone could point me to some decent Biking stores in the Glasgow area. All help is very much appreciated.

Cheers CjbScotland

Comments

• supersonic
    supersonic Posts: 82,708
    400 will get you more bike than the Vulcan, such as the Carrera Kraken: but do budget for helmet and accessories.

Best thing to do would be to try a few out, paying attention to comfort and fit. £400 has become the new performance price point, with bikes getting good forks and hydraulic disk brakes.
  • Ahh i suppose. Thanks for the advice. I suppose that means i have about £300 - £350 to spend, so do you have any decent reccomendations. I am going to go check out some bike shops in Glasgow next week once my foot gets better ( i dropped a weight on it and nearly broke it haha )
  • Have a look at the Specialized Hardrock as well. At £350 it's one of the best bargin buys, with a fantastic frame. Hope the foot gets better.
    jedster wrote:
    Just off to contemplate my own mortality and inevitable descent into decrepedness.
    FCN 3 or 4 on road depending on clothing
    FCN 8 off road because I'm too old to go racing around.
  • Thanks for that i think i am gonna go check out some Hardrocks and a GT Avalanche 3.0/ a 2.0. Also are there any good places to ride in and around Glasgow? And does anyone know of any reputable biking shops in and about Glasgow?

Cheers Cjb Scotland
  • Rich Hcp
    Rich Hcp Posts: 1,355