Altura Altitude Cycling Shorts. Do I need underpants?!!

bomberharris72
bomberharris72 Posts: 44
edited August 2008 in Road beginners
This probably is a really silly question but do you need to wear underwear with baggy cycling shorts? I've got the Altura Altitude ones which are lined but not in the same way, say swimming shorts are. I do wear boxer shorts with them but they tend to chafe. Not wearing them would mean I'd have things swinging about if you know what I mean. Do I need proper cycling suited underwear? Sorry for the daft question but I'm a newbie. :oops:

Comments

• popette
    popette Posts: 2,089
    hi Bomber Harris72,
    I don't wear anything under my shorts but I don't have the problem of things swinging about and I dont' wear baggies either. I looked those shorts up and it says they have integral shorts. If things are swinging or chaffing, perhaps you could get pair of those cycling pants with padded thing in them. My husband sometimes wears those.
    Probably the most useless reply ever but just wanted to say hi anyway and welcome to the forum.
    :)
  • Thanks for the welcome! Not useless at all, good to hear people's advice. Tight soft pants are the way forward methinks.
  • daniel_b
    daniel_b Posts: 11,538
    popette wrote:
    I don't have the problem of things swinging about

I'm sure we're all pleased to hear that popette! :lol:

Do those shorts have padding at all, the merlin write up seems unclear...?

You can get padded undershorts, or you could just go for a standard lycra cycling short, and wear baggies over the top - I tend to do this for mountain biking only now, having got over my initial neurosis :D

As popette said, welcome to the forum, enjoy 8)

Dan
    Felt F70 05 (Turbo)
    Marin Palisades Trail 91 and 06
    Scott CR1 SL 12
    Cannondale Synapse Adventure 15 & 16 Di2
    Scott Foil 18
  • Aye, the shorts have a padded insert. Still waiting for me bum to desensitise though!

Thanks for the welcome.
  • bigjim