Which Afan trail with limited time?

Iain C
Iain C Posts: 464
edited August 2008 in XC and Enduro
I live in the Midlands but I have a meeting in South Wales on Monday and I am very tempted with these long evenings to chuck my bike in the back of the car and have a little blast round Afan on the way home.

I've never been there before, and just wanted a bit of advice on where to go...

-Bike is a Fuel EX-7
-My competence is getting a lot better but I'm no technical expert yet...for me Follow the Dog at Cannock is still fun but not mega-exciting if that makes sense!
-I'm not the fittest person in the world but I'm getting there
-I'll probably have about 3 hours to kill
-I'll be on my own so don't want to be on some incredibly remote trail in case I hurt myself
-It would be good if the bike and pilot did not come out of the forest totally covered in mud and sheep pooh...unless there are bike and pilot washing facilities on site, so perhaps a drier trail would be better...

Not sure if there is anyhitng else I need to bear in mind...is there a "closing time" or similar?

Thanks in advance

Comments

• saxabar
    saxabar Posts: 30
    I'd suggest Penhydd. The suggested time of ride is 90 mins to 3hrs and is 14 miles. It's a top ride and begins with some technical climbing and then onto a long and relatively easy climb to the top. This is then followed by some lovely fast single track, brakes not necessary! The next section is green and can get a little muddy if there's been some rain. This is followed by another short climb and then onto a nice little downhill wooded section. A mile of pootling then another downhill section. Somewhere within this is a super dusty section with switchbacks - gorgeous views and fast as you like. Finally there's another wooded decent and then a little technical climb and descent back to base.

Probably not the best description but it's a wonderfully varied trail and if you're unsure of competence and time, this is the one I'd go for. :D