Condor Fratello

the_hundredth_idiot
the_hundredth_idiot Posts: 813
edited January 2010 in Road beginners
I'm pretty much set on getting one of these through Bike to Work. Frustratingly, I'm only allowed to make a decision once a year in early October so I've still two months to wait.

I can spend a max of £1,000 through Bike to Work (and, realistically, I don't actually want to spend more) which brings me up to Campag Veloce or Shimano 105 groupsets. So, a few questions:

1) I'll mostly be using it to commute to work and back (approx 6-7 miles on London streets) so is there any value in getting Veloce/105 or should I save a bit of cash and get Xenon/Sora or Mirage/Tiagra? (Note how I'm carefully staying away from which is better out of Campag and Shimano :) ) I'm going for the Condor more because I fancy a classic steel-framed bike which will last years than because I'm some sort of gear-shifting speed demon. I'm also a total noob with road bikes (discounting the "racer" I had as a teenager in the 1980s which one of my friends borrowed and left behind the chip shop on a Saturday night ...) so even bottom end kit is probably better than the stuff I have on my current urban warrior.

2) What about wheels? I want something strong that can cope with the pot-holed (courtesy of our friendly, neighbourhood utility companies), speed-bumped (ditto, local council) hell that is the London road network. (Q: why don't the councils just save a bit of time and cash and pay the utility companies a little money to make an even bigger hash of filling in all the holes they dig? That'll slow us all down nicely.)

3) Is there any benefit in waiting a month or so more? That is, are 2009 models likely to come out from Condor in the same way they do for the more mass market manufacturers?