Rollers V Turbo

bendewey
bendewey Posts: 23
edited August 2008 in Training, fitness and health
Im new to this indoor training lark, wha is the difference between these two workout wise? Are rollers easy?
Thinking of purchasing one or the other.
What does everyone think?

Comments

• cougie
    cougie Posts: 22,512
    Very different things. Rollers are great for developing balance and a smooth pedalling style.

Turbos are better for interval work and you can really increase the resistance on them.

My preference would be the turbo if you really want to train hard and not worry about falling off the darn things !
  • I'm weighing up the pros & cons of buying rollers v turbo too.

I've never tried rollers, so how do you vary the resistance on them. Using the bike's gears I guess, but does this give a sufficient amount of resistance? How do rollers compare to say cycling on a completely flat, smooth tarmac road, is more or less effort required on the rollers for the same gear ratios?
  • SunWuKong
    SunWuKong Posts: 364
    Some rollers do have variable resistance.
  • whyamihere
    whyamihere Posts: 7,695
    I'm weighing up the pros & cons of buying rollers v turbo too.

I've never tried rollers, so how do you vary the resistance on them. Using the bike's gears I guess, but does this give a sufficient amount of resistance? How do rollers compare to say cycling on a completely flat, smooth tarmac road, is more or less effort required on the rollers for the same gear ratios?
    You can get rollers with adjustable resistance.