Why oh why do we do it? discuss.

trailblazer83
trailblazer83 Posts: 87
edited August 2008 in MTB general
I am a beginner and have only had a few real days on my bike but have noticed you have to work very hard for the pleasures.

The reason I do it is I know that at some point a bit of trail, DH or singletrack is going to be perfect for my ability and all the work is worth it when you have 100% confidence in your bike and pulling of some killer lines that leave me stoked!!

Why do you do it?

Comments

• For the freedom, the fun and the fitness.

theres nothing like leaving the built up areas, heading into the countryside and generally dicking around :lol:
  • beski
    beski Posts: 542
    When you've pushed yourself to the top of that hill & you're having a drink/getting your breath back. You take a look at the breath taking view of the valley below, and look down on a pair of Kestrels hanging face into the wind, motionless apart from tails adjusting to keep position while they hunt - priceless.

Or right in the middle of the marshes, no one else in sight, following a bridlle path alongside a river in the heat of a sunny afternoon, and you see the flourescent flash of a Kingfisher along the river bank.

The exhileration of following a smooth downhill piece of single track, adjusting your position & line, and dipping and flowing with the undulations, feeling at one with the bike

What more could you want ?
    Giant Defy 4 2014
    GT Avalanche Expert 2006
    Specialized Hardrock 1989
  • Ciaran500
    Ciaran500 Posts: 348
    I think the reason I keep doing it is that the miserable part is at the start and all the fun is towards the ends. Always happy by the time I get home that way :D
  • Rich Hcp
    Rich Hcp Posts: 1,355
    I do to make myself feel better

Clear my head etc

And it makes me fitter
    Richard

Giving it Large
  • Anonymous
    Anonymous Posts: 79,667
    It's who I am.