Where am I going wrong??

Peanutt
Peanutt Posts: 229
edited August 2008 in MTB beginners
Ok, so I took my new bike out for the first time yesterday, very impressed, much more travel than my old naff catalogue bike and suspension that actually works.

I found some nice downhills, nothing hardcore, I'm just a beginner, but fast decents with some nice natural 'jumps'. Usually when I launch off something I can maintain control and land the bike however I was finding that every time I tried to get more than a foot of air my feet became detached from the peddles and I found myself doing an unintentional superman!!

How do I jump a bike and keep the bike stuck to my feet?
No matter where you are, that's where you've been

Comments

• supersonic
    supersonic Posts: 82,708
    Problem I had for years, and sometimes still do! I find what happens is that rather than just lift the front end, you physically jump with the bike - cue feet coming off pedals. You need to relax, keep your knees bent and fluid.
  • salsarider79
    salsarider79 Posts: 828
    You need to keep the pedals level to start with, then as you come up to the take off you need to rotate the pedal so your foot is facing slightly downwards. As you take off push your feet into the pedals and away you go. Try bunnyhopping first, that'll teach you how to do it right.
    Also try to get a back issue of MBUK which has a how to DVD....
    jedster wrote:
    Just off to contemplate my own mortality and inevitable descent into decrepedness.
    FCN 3 or 4 on road depending on clothing
    FCN 8 off road because I'm too old to go racing around.
  • Peanutt
    Peanutt Posts: 229
    Thanks chaps, I'll give the peddle down thing a go, it's by sheer fluke I didn't break my neck yesterday, still, it was damn good fun. :D
    No matter where you are, that's where you've been
  • Stu 74
    Stu 74 Posts: 463
    Have you considered SPDs? :)

Stu
  • Andy B
    Andy B Posts: 8,115
    SPD's are cheating :wink: