A definition of XC

ross_mcculloch
ross_mcculloch Posts: 478
edited August 2008 in MTB beginners
I'm still a relative newbie when it comes to mountain biking, I've read so many different definitions of what XC riding is. So here's my question...

How do you define XC and how does it differ from trail riding??

Comments

• indysmith
    indysmith Posts: 276
    XC riding is cross country riding. Riding across country that is. :lol: It differs from trail riding in that you're riding cross country rather than on a purpose built trail.
    ...at least that's my interpretation.

EDIT: It's also more competition-based (speed is the name of the game), where as the focus of trail riding is really just having fun.
  • LordBanks
    LordBanks Posts: 358
    XC riding is like someone running a Marathon after months and months of training, with a serious desire to win or beat their previous time.

Trail riding is like someone running a Marathon dressed as crocodile, for charity.
  • grumsta
    grumsta Posts: 994
    I would say that trail riding means man made trails generally including north shore and some jumps etc. XC is more just riding off road routes like bridleways and stuff - not really jumping or messing about too much.

Thats my interpretation anyway.
  • ride_whenever
    ride_whenever Posts: 13,279
    I would say you shouldn't leave the ground for xc other that over rock gardens and smallish drops (1'-2') with a distinct emphasis on speed. Also includes incrediably painful brutally technical climbs, superlight bikes and a classic racers posture on the bike.
  • Surf-Matt
    Surf-Matt Posts: 5,952
    LordBanks wrote:
    XC riding is like someone running a Marathon after months and months of training, with a serious desire to win or beat their previous time.

Trail riding is like someone running a Marathon dressed as crocodile, for charity.

:lol::lol::lol:

To me, XC is riding mostly "on" the ground whereas trail riding involves a lot of air.