Tour D’Afrique

Crapaud
Crapaud Posts: 2,483
edited December 2008 in Tour & expedition
I’ve been contemplating doing the Tour D’Afrique for a few years now. There’re many other things that I’d been wanting to do as well. However, I’ve realised that there are too many and that I’ve not done, and am unlikely to do, any or all of them. So I’ve decided to work towards only one goal – the Tour D’Afrique! If time, money and circumstances permit, I may be able to fit some other things in, but it’s this Tour that I’m making my main objective.

Experience – the Tour du Canada – has taught me that planning is essential. In that case I spent two years scrimping and saving, and probably hundreds of hours researching bikes, tents etc, testing myself to make sure that I was capable of the distances involved, and could afford it all before committing myself. It was all time, and effort, well spent. However, I could have saved a lot of time and trouble if I'd asked for help from the forum.

What I’d like to use this thread for is to harness the power of the hive-mind that is Bikeradar; to enlist the help, knowledge and experiences of those that have cycled in similar environments to make equipment choices and plan ahead for any potential problems. Although I've done a little preliminary research there will be much that I've not thought of, so, any thoughts, suggestions, links to any blogs or articles that you think may be relevant or of interest are welcome. This, for me, is a mammoth once-in-a-lifetime undertaking so there is no detail so small that it's not worth consideration.

Up until now I‘ve only been concerning myself with the financial aspect and have a rough (very rough) idea what it will cost (so I’ve doubled it). I’m expecting the lead-time to be around 4 – 5 years. It’s time to move on to equipment.

First up is the bike: