London to Cambridge event

vs4b
vs4b Posts: 257
edited July 2008 in Road beginners
Hi there,

Anyone done this before? What's it like?

I am just starting out with my roadbike and want a target to work to and like the idea of this as i live in Cambridge. I'm very out of shape and need a goal to work to.

I'd also be interested in knowing how much training / prep do i need for to do the ride and enjoy it. Is it necessary to have done the full distance at some point prior to the day or just have got out and done plenty of miles in general. At the moment my furthest ride for a variety of reasons has only been 15miles so its a pretty big step up.

Thoughts / advice welcome!

Comments

• nicksun
    nicksun Posts: 290
    Hi VS4B,
    The L to C is a reasonably easy ride. You wouldn't need to ride 50 or so miles before you do it but once the weather starts to improve I think you'll probably want to anyway. There's an Oxford to Cambridge bike ride that is a little further and a little more challenging that you might wany to have a look at as well.

Good luck.

Nicksun.
  • when is the london to cambridge bike ride? I've don london cambrisge london before so it might be a good one to incorporate into a longer ride?\

Gats
  • Not usually until the end of summer
    Has the head wind picked up or the tail wind dropped off???
  • vs4b
    vs4b Posts: 257
    So how far should i am to have covered in a single ride before the event?
  • Mad Mat
    Mad Mat Posts: 240
    Check out the Bike Events web site for details of the London to Cambridge on the 27th July at www.bike-events.com/
    It's one of the best charity rides as it's mostly flat and the finish is fast and furious with a beer tent at the end, what more could you ask for..
    London to Paris 13/6/2007 sponsor me at WWW.justgiving.com/woodthorpe
  • I would have thought that you would want to have covered at least 30 miles before you attempt it. Although I understand that it is one of the easier charity rides.