New Altura trail at Whinlatter

marfis
marfis Posts: 10
edited October 2009 in Routes
Hi folks. Has anyone else tried the new Altura trail at Whinlatter? I know it doesn't officially open until tomorrow but i've been up today and done the sections of the north loop that are open, along with quite a few other people.
I'm a bit of a novice when it comes to singletracks of this type (only done Grizedale before!) but it seems pretty good. Good variety of surface and gradient with quite a few jumps thrown in, especially the last downhill section! The triple very nearly caught me out big time as it's deceptively quick into it. However the downhill bit was so good I went back up for another go!
The only bad points are that it really needs bedding in with water as it's been so dry up here lately the berms and new track hasn't sealed together. Here's hoping it gets better!

Comments

• Took a spin round it yesterday. Have to admit this was my first experience of a single track trail so it was all a bit of a 'Learning Experience'!
    Thoroughly enjoyed it, though as Marfis says it's decidedly loose in place, especially the last bit, though the fella in the bike shop said they are going to sort it before it opens officially.
    Anyone thinking trying it, be warned, watch the last section. It's zig zags down a very steep fellslope and wouldn't forgive a mistake.
  • mtb.boy
    mtb.boy Posts: 208
    Rode it this morning after the opening ceremony (the free glass of champagne and goodie bag was an unexpected bonus).

It is a good trail. I was knackered by the end (although I have not ridden off road for over a year). I had to walk a few sections as the berms were too steep for me to get up them (cos I was not going fast enough) and the bottom of the berms were about 6 inches deep with really loose gravel/rocks.

Good hour and 30 mins ride on my hardtail with no off-road confidence.
    The first rule of cycling is - Tell everyone how great cycling is.