Which drink is best for recovery / energy on rides

andy83
andy83 Posts: 1,558
Have just started to step up my distances on my bike to try lose the little bit of weight i want to get to my ideal weight then start on bulking up in the gym. I was a personal trainer so understand light weights high reps does good for toning which is what im doing now to assist with the weight loss. i have a big frame and just want to strip down a bit. god im waffling lol

anyway have got rides to around 15miles in around 50 minutes. my commute to work is 3.5miles so will do 7miles around 4 days a week and then maybe a 15 mile ride once a week.

i have started to notice with the last 5 miles of my ride im starting to lose a bit of energy. now with my commute i can increase it to around 5-6 miles each way if i go the long way round which i would like to do and also would like to increase my longer ride to around 30miles. of course i will do this gradually but my bottle of water is just not seeming enough fluids to get me through some journeys

right now after my waffle come the questions

can anyone recomend some good recovery fluids / foods for after rides, and also any decent things to help give me a kick when im riding so i can keep pushing myself

obviously i wont be going too hard that i will collapse lol. have heart rate monitor to keep eye on things during exercise. I have dodgy knees and muscle fatigue illness (fibromyalgia) but seems cycling helps and why i want to increase my distances as cant run on roads or treadmill etc. want to lose the timber i dont want

im looking to eventually get to a stage where i can cycle around 100 miles for charity so want some good stuff to aid me in my training. cycling specific things im after

sorry if i have waffled

thanks in advance

Comments

• hastings
    hastings Posts: 206
    I use For Goodness Shakes Milkshakes after rides
  • 1340jas
    1340jas Posts: 217
    Good to see someone with an illness still giving it ago, don't give up.