Riders near Halifax

Whyteknight
Whyteknight Posts: 4
edited July 2008 in MTB rides
Hi Im new to the halifax area and was hoping some kind folks off this forum would show me around, i have been to hebden bridge a few times before but i am sure there must be more trails than i can see on an OS map :) i live neer ogden so rides from there would be fantastic!

Comments

• dave_hill
    dave_hill Posts: 3,877
    I'm in Burnley and I ride regularly in the Todmorden/Hebden Bridge areas. I've tried planning a route round the Halifax area but as you say the trails in your immediate area are few and far between. What legal bridleways there are are pretty fragmented and it's difficult to string a good loop together.

If you're at Ogden, try heading North West on the track that heads on to Thornton Moor by the Causeway Foot pub. This will drop you down into Oxenhope. You can then head up the main road (as if you are going over the hill to hebden Bridge) then turn off left onto a minor road which climbs up onto Oxenhope Moor, then down over Hollin Hill past the wind farm. Then you can turn off right down the long track which runs due East back down to the car park at Ogden Water (marked as a footpath on the Landranger maps, but it's been upgraded to bridleway and is signposted as such on the ground).

Alternatively, have a look in the Dam Head / Northowram area, lots of little sections of bridleway in that area.

If that doesn't float your boat, head West towards to the Bridge and Hardcastle Crags, loads in that area!
    Give a home to a retired Greyhound. Tia Greyhound Rescue
    Help for Heroes
    JayPic
  • danhx
    danhx Posts: 165