Newcomer advice on a bike for £1k : Help!!!

RSV_Ecosse
RSV_Ecosse Posts: 237
edited August 2008 in Road beginners
Hi,

I know you guys must have seen a million threads like this, but I am a complete newbie to road cycling and I'm looking for advice.

My employer recently signed up to "Cyclescheme" and I intend to grab myself a good road bike through it.

It will be mostly used for a mainly rural commute a few times a week as well as some long runs in my spare time.

I'm looking at around the £1k mark to spend.

Having spoken to a guy on another shift at work who is seriously into road cycling, I took his advice on a few models to look at.

Unfortunately, the three I sort of had "shortlisted" are not available through the partner shops listed under our Cyclescheme. They were:-

Focus Cayo 2008
Dolan Mythos
Planet-X Carbon

Bit of a pain, Wiggle have the Focus tied up pretty tight and they are not part of the scheme my employer has signed up to. And I really, really had my heart set on a Cayo.

I did hear that Halfords can source you pretty much anything, but after browsing a few bike forums, it seems this is not now the case. Perhaps something to do with them pushing their own @£1k road bike, the Carrera Virago Carbon?. I dunno.....can anyone confirm that Halfords will not source a Cayo or Mythos for customers?.

Anyhow, I'm now looking at two bikes at the £1k mark and would appreciate some comments on them.

Pinarello FP1 2008
Bianchi 1885 Hydro Carbon Veloce B4P

Both appear to be stonking value for money, especially the Pinarello. The 1885 always gets good write ups.

I'm new to all this, so I have little idea as to the specs between the Pinarello and the Bianchi and how they compare.

Any advice appreciated.
Ethernet (noun): Something used to catch the etherbunny.
Road : Pinarello FP1 | MTB : Cube Acid 2010

Comments

• nferrar
    nferrar Posts: 2,511