Do I need rest days?

stratcat
stratcat Posts: 160
I've just started to get back in to my cycling.
I do a route of about 8 miles (road) including some real lung busting and leg burning climbs on my mtb.
I'm just trying to get back into shape after a few years lay off.

At the moment I'm resting every other day (at the moment my legs need it) but once I've got a bit of fitness up should I keep resting or would two days cycling to one resting be OK.

I don't want to overdo it but I do want to get my fitness levels up to a reasonable level in as quick a time as possible.

Comments

• Dr_Death
    Dr_Death Posts: 1,262
    You'll always need rest days but as you get fitter they can become less frequent.... Play it by ear, you'll know if you have done too much..
    Steve

Trust me, I'm a doctor!

http://www.vimeo.com/DrDeath
  • stratcat
    I'm not totally out of shape, and I usually know if I need a rest, but I'm trying to get as fit as I can as quickly as I can and wonder if I would make quicker gains resting less. In the past I've had maybe two rest days a week.

I'm usually out for an hour, but I do push myself pretty hard and never bimble along admiring the view! :wink:
  • will3
    will3 Posts: 2,173
    I guess it depends how unfit you are to start with. When I got back into commuting by bike, 8.5ish mile each way'd take me 45 minutes. My thighs would hurt most of the time for about 6 months, gradually getting better. Now after a year it's down to 30 minutes and no pain.
    I wouldn't say you need a rest day, but maybe take it easy every other if you can, cut out the hills. Basically if things start to hurt too much, have a break
  • stratcat
    I wondered how you commuters went on.

Thighs hurting for six months :shock: :shock:

I think you are right about the hills. I could easily miss out the real killer hills but its a bit tricky to avoid hills totally here in Cumbria :lol: