Pedal Removal Difficulties

glitter_daemon
glitter_daemon Posts: 5
edited June 2008 in MTB workshop & tech
I've just acquired a GT avalanche 1.0 and am most impressed, but the pedals that came with it are sketchy as hell so today I got some better pedals, but I'm having loads of trouble getting the rubbish pedals off! I presume they've been threadlocked on but it's refusing to budge. Any tips? I'm kinda new to fettling.

Comments

• dhxcme
    dhxcme Posts: 1,467
    scaffolding tube to optimise leverage.
  • toslow
    toslow Posts: 85
    Get a pedal spanner .It will give you loads of leverage.
    I know this may be sounding a bit daft but are you trying to undo them the wrong way round ?. The side with the chain rings is a conventional right hand thread an the other side has a left hand thread. If you know this and there still not moving try soaking in wd40 or something similar .Assuming you bought from a bike shop , i would take it back to the gorilla who did them up to tight and make it there problem.
  • wallisdene
    wallisdene Posts: 60
    The easiest way to remember it is both pedal axle threads tighten & undo in the same direction. They will both loosen off towards the rear wheel.
  • Hehe, I have been trying to undo them the right way (I checked on the net before I started :P ) so I think I'm going to end up taking it back to the aforementioned "gorilla" but I have to wait all the way til tomorrow for that! Damn shop's shut on sundays!
    Actually, was there some note of seriousness in dhxcme's scaffold tube comment? As much as it made me chuckle I couldn't help seeing some sense in there.
  • One word of advice. Put chain on largest chainring and wear some heavy duty gloves. If they are that seized, when they finally lets go there's 42 grubby spiky chainring teeth waiting to skewer your hands.