Beginners trails near London

jimineep
jimineep Posts: 6
edited May 2008 in MTB beginners
OK here's the deal..

I've been commuting to work on an old hybrid for 6 months now. I had a couple of operation over the last couple of years on my right knee (meniscus problems, nothing too structurally wrong with it..) and the only sport that seems to help my knee is cycling.

So although I enjoy the commuting I'd really love to get off-road. With that in mind I bought a Dawes 1.6 xc. I've been using it on the road and its great fun, although the front suspension seems quite soft, has taken some getting used to!!!

Anyway, why am I telling you this? I'm looking for some simple trails near london where I can go with a couple of mates, and we can cycle around and I can build up some muscles. Doesnt have to be hardcore jumps or whatever, just a good beginners ride. I've had a look on the route planner, but the majority near me seem to be onroad....

Cheers!

Comments

• xcracer
    xcracer Posts: 298
    Any part of London in particular?
  • jimineep
    Im in Islington. But I've not been here long. I've gone around hamstead heath a few times but I'm not sure if your supposed to go on the trails there! Im just looking for somewhere nearish maybe some woods someone knows about. I dont mind travelling a bit to get there. Basic beginners trails really...
  • clipper
    clipper Posts: 60
    i don't know of anything in London but it might be worth taking a trip out to Epping Forest. trains run from Liverpool Street or you can cycle to Clapton and pick one up there. it's fairly flat but keep your eyes peeled and there are lots of nice trails. a bit further afield and a little more hilly are the North Downs which you can reach by train from Waterloo and getting off at Dorking.
  • Flogger
    Flogger Posts: 23