Want to buy a bike for hubby but need help please

Kerry T
Kerry T Posts: 14
edited May 2008 in MTB beginners
Hello all,

Its my hubby's birthday next month and I want to get him a new mountain bike he is a complete newbie to mountain bikes and is using my 15 + year old mountain bike that was about £120 from Halfords so you can see why he might aprecieate a new bike :D

I have to say that since he has taken up biking he is a changed man, he has gone from being a grumpy 18st 38yo (hope he does not read this :D ) to a 15st very happy man again and the weight is still falling of him , the change in him has been amazing and all in a few months so I would really like to suprise him and get him a decent bike

I have spoken to a few of the guys in my local bike shops but have just left each of them even more confused then when I went in :(

I have a max budget of £1000 at a real push although around the £900 would be better , and think I need to get him a hardtail bike , so my question is what do I get him ? the only clue to what bike is a bike he has showed me ages ago in a magazine he read ......

http://www.wiggle.co.uk/ProductDetail.aspx?Cat=cycle&ProdID=5360032357&N=Focus%20Killer%20Bee%20Disc%202008

so is there anybody here who could have a look at the spec of the Focus bike and tell me what they think ? or maybe suggest a better bike for the money ?

Kerry

ps I showed the spec of the Focus bike to a friend at work who does a little bit of biking and he said that the 07 model of the bike has a better spec ??? that does not seem right to me that they would downgrade the spec of the new 08 model
http://www.wiggle.co.uk/ProductDetail.aspx?Cat=cycle&ProdID=5360026030

Comments

• nicklouse
    nicklouse Posts: 50,675
    the Killer bee is a good buy which ever year you get. but the 2007 was a LTD which in focus language means a step up in kit.

still the 2008 is a good spec and there is not much out there to beat it at the price.