68mm BB in a 73mm shell ?

RedDev21
RedDev21 Posts: 7
edited April 2008 in MTB workshop & tech
Hi all, is it ok to fit a 68mm bottom bracket (Octalink splined) into a 73mm BB shell? I originally had a 73mm BB in the shell but the spline was too short which made the small chainring touch up against the side of the frame. I had a spare 68mm BB with a slighly longer spline so I fitted this and it cured the problem of the chainring rubbing on the shell. There doesn't seem to be any obvious problems, nothing is loose. However, as Im new to this bike building, just wondered if it will cause any problems?
Also, when I swapped BB's over, I just removed the drive side and replaced that, leaving the old cup in the non-drive side as the cup is threaded and couldnt get it out. Both BB's were Shimano sealed cartridge units, just slightly different sizes. (68mm x 118) & (73mm x 113).
Hope this isnt too confusing! :?

Comments

• nicklouse
    nicklouse Posts: 50,675
    not really as the bearing on the non drive side will not be properly supported. also you may find that the non drive arm catches on the cup.

BUT as the axel is over length and it works then the only consideration is the lack of support of the BB.
    "Do not follow where the path may lead, Go instead where there is no path, and Leave a Trail."
    Parktools :?:SheldonBrown
  • RedDev21
    So is there any way I can put the correct BB size back in the shell and stop the small chainring rubbing against the frame?
  • hoathy
    hoathy Posts: 776
    The lack of support for the non-drive side is really bad though, as all of the stress is nowing to be going through the driveside thread with more leverage than it shoud ever take. I think running it like this for any length of time will lead to a messed up drive side thread. If it were me, i'd go and buy a new bottom bracket. asap.