friction front derailleur vs indexed?

chrissieb
chrissieb Posts: 8
edited April 2008 in MTB workshop & tech
Hello, sorry if I'm being a dumb noob, but I need some help with my front derailleur...

I just replaced an old shimano SIS friction shifter with a shimano stx 3 speed indexed trigger shifter. I'm trying to set the gears up, but having no joy- if I put a lot of tension on the cable, I can't physically shift the gears. If I slacken it off, I can select all 3 settings, but the derailleur hardly moves at all between two of the settings, so it's useless.

I suspect that maybe friction and index derailleures need a different amount of force and aren't interchangeable and I'm wasting my time, is this so?

If I junk the derailleur and get a shimano stx one, are there any chain ring compatability issues I need to be aware of? I'm using a truvative isoflow trushift 3 ring chainset.

Sorry, I'm new to this..!

advise welcome, x

Comments

• nicklouse
    nicklouse Posts: 50,675
    it should work fine. it sounds like you have some thing not set up correctly.

what is the front mech? also what is the bike.

have a good look at Parktools as well.
    "Do not follow where the path may lead, Go instead where there is no path, and Leave a Trail."
    Parktools :?:SheldonBrown
  • nicklouse wrote:
    it should work fine. it sounds like you have some thing not set up correctly.

what is the front mech? also what is the bike.

have a good look at Parktools as well.

hmm... not sure what I'm doing wrong then! I managed to set it up when I was using a friction shifter, but I'm not getting anywhere with the indexed one.

The front mech is a shimano one, but there is no model name on there. I was given the bike to learn on, it's an old cheapo mountain bike, A Universal Rampage I think! I've been gradually doing it up as a project.

I've been using the haynes bike book and had a quick look at park, but I'll try again.... maybe I won't need to spend money after all!

cheers, x