Stand Up Or Sit Down????

drumsmasher
drumsmasher Posts: 241
Hi! I am new to road biking although i have been mountain biking for about 5 years. I have just bought a Giant TCR but i am trying to find out the best way to attack hills. I have tried sitting using higher cadence/lower gear spinning but found i get on better by standing and moving the bike side to side. I appreciate that this may not be the most energy effective way but it feels right. can anyone with greater knowledge than me, tell me which method is the correct one so i at least can start by practicing the right way. Thanks!
Another tree...another cracked rib!!

Comments

• redddraggon
    redddraggon Posts: 10,862
    It depends how long and steep the hill is.

Short and steep - stand

Long and low gradient - sit (with odd periods of standing).
    I like bikes...

Twitter
    Flickr
  • drumsmasher
    I was hoping thats what you would say. Cheers for the quick reply!
  • drumsmasher
    My mate reckons i am losing momentum by moving the bike when standing and climbing, but i would have thought that pulling on the bars would give me more power. Any suggestions please???
  • Adamskii
    Adamskii Posts: 267
    Generally sitting down and spinning a higher gear up hills will save your legs on longer rides. On shorter rides it probably makes no difference in fact standing may help increase your leg strength.
    It's all good.
  • a_n_t
    a_n_t Posts: 2,011
    i sit, until i have to stand!
    Manchester wheelers

PB's
    10m 20:21 2014
    25m 53:18 20:13
    50m 1:57:12 2013
    100m Yeah right.
  • chrisw12
    chrisw12 Posts: 1,246
    I stand until I have to sit.
  • Bronzie
    Bronzie Posts: 4,927
    Staying seated on climbs is probably more efficient (you are using less muscle groups), but sometimes you just gotta stand up to get more power onto the pedals and also to relieve your leg/back muscles on a really long climb.
  • andy_wrx
    andy_wrx Posts: 3,396