carrera virago 08

iainleverett
iainleverett Posts: 3
edited April 2008 in Workshop
hello experts -i am a newcomer to this world and have a big favour to ask

i am doing the etape this summer, and am planning on buying as good as bike as possible under the bikes to work scheme, ie , budget £1,000 from halfords.

i am not an expert in the slightest. however i was expecting a decent aluminium bike. however they seem to have a full carbon bike with ultegra gearing to boot for £1,000.

when i ask people, some say that the carbon must be rubbish at that price and it will be really flexible ie i lose power, others say that carbon is basically always stiffer, lighter and more comfortable so go for it, so long as you don't mind the fact that it may be a bit more likely to die in a crash. this i can certainly live with.

i am therefore confused, and given a total lack of reivews on line (the 2002 version looks a completely different bike) was hoping for some help. anyone got any ideas on whether this virago is supposed to me any good?

Comments

• meagain
    meagain Posts: 2,331
    Not on H'fords web site yet -and certainly wasn't one on our local branch yesterday! The 2002 Virago was actually a Merida - and an excellent bike, especially at its price. Won at least one best for a grand award. Sounds as if H again trying to float top stuff under Carrera name (rather than e.g. Boardman). The all-carbon mtb also at a grand looks pretty good!

Whatever the snobbish disparagement of Carreras, H's large volume means can offer top vfm. Main downside is poor resale value. But that is probably true of many of the current crop of "carbon for a grand" bikes!
    d.j.
    "Cancel my subscription to the resurrection."
  • Lagavulin
    Lagavulin Posts: 1,688
    Listed on Halfords

I'm pretty certain someone on here has got one. There was a thread entitled "Check Out My Ride" a little while back and I'm sure someone posted a pic of one.
  • redddraggon
    redddraggon Posts: 10,862