changing pedals

nonnac85
nonnac85 Posts: 1,608
edited April 2008 in MTB workshop & tech
excuse my ignorance (i have never done this before) - i am going to get some new (flat) pedals for my bike and therefore will need to remove the old ones.

Q1 - i have heard people say you do not need a pedal spanner as you can use a normal one - is this true?

Q2 - Are there any other special tools i need?

thanks in advance
My Website - Trail Centre info for the UK: MTB Trail Time

Comments

• nicklouse
    nicklouse Posts: 50,675
    you just need the correct sized spanner. pedal spanners tend to have a longer length.

you just need to know which has the left hand thread.

Parktools has the answer and pictures....
    "Do not follow where the path may lead, Go instead where there is no path, and Leave a Trail."
    Parktools :?:SheldonBrown
  • nonnac85
    thanks for the quick reply!

one more thing...is there a certain type of grease to use (or avoid) e.g. the ones with added teflon etc?

thanks again
  • redvee
    redvee Posts: 11,922
    Pedal spanners also have a thinner head, as the flats for them to grip can by quite slim on some pedals.
    I've added a signature to prove it is still possible.
  • I personally, had a bit of trouble geting my pedals off with a normal spanner because there wasn't enough leverage - sliced up my fingers badly when it slipped! I used some metal tubing over the spanner in the end for leverage and it was easy.
  • god1406
    god1406 Posts: 554
    if you use a soft-nosed hammer and give the end of the spanner a swift whack it usually jolts the pedal free.
  • The Big Cheese
    The Big Cheese Posts: 8,651
    use an Anti-seize compound if you have some, of any grease is better than none -I use weldtite red-grease....

Just position the spanner (i use a normal spanner) and give it a little help with a rubber mallet/hammer etc to free it up
  • nonnac85
    will give it a go with a normal spanner then. grease will soon be on its way from crc