What shock?

jon prothero
jon prothero Posts: 469
edited March 2008 in MTB buying advice
My Fox rp2 seems a bit slow on the rebound. Anybody suggest anything thing else that is great for tackling rocky stuff fast. Riding style 'all mountain'

Comments

• nicklouse
    nicklouse Posts: 50,675
    adjust the shock, and set it up correctly. It is already a good shock.

What is the bike as not all shocks will fit all frames (year as well).
    "Do not follow where the path may lead, Go instead where there is no path, and Leave a Trail."
    Parktools :?:SheldonBrown
  • I would think its specced right as it came on the 07 Meta 5.5.1. And the shock not bad in fact it is 'alright' it just does not seem to respond fast enough. Perhaps I just do not like air. Even though I have little experience with full suspension I have an annoying habit of knowing when things feel 'real good' to me. The front Fox rl32 did not feel right to me either, not stiff enough, tracked poorly under pressure and was not super quick responding. After I did some research I got Pikes 454 and they do everything I imagine a really good fork should do (for my own style of course). So I am only suggesting for my weight and style ('all mountain') their may be another alternative. Could have it tuned but as "TF told me theres not a lot you can do with a rp2" and its cost a lot to get done. I can see if I had a rp3 it would be worth getting tuned because a lot of features would be added.
  • I've just started riding an air shocked bike after riding coil shocked bikes for the last ten years and I understand where you're coming from - the bike just feels "dead" :? .

I was actually wondering if the rear shock was working at all, but after playing about with the pressures and compression / rebound settings and keeping a close eye on the stroke, it appears the bike is just getting on with things totally fuss free :shock: !