Best tyre/tube combination for Sportives?

cakewalk
cakewalk Posts: 220
edited April 2008 in Workshop
I'm just getting into cycling decent distances and have booked a couple of sportives this year.

From my limited experience I've noted the huge difference tyres make to performance.

Anyway I need a new set of tyres. I'm aware that puncture resistance/performance are, basically mutually exclusive - well kind of.

So what tyres do people use/recommend? Tyres such as Continental Grand Prix 4000S sound amazing. Are they? Would this be a suitable tyre for sportive distances or is it more for out and out racing?

Also noted Michelin Aircomp Latex inner tubes. These are ridiculously light. Should I consider them?
"I thought of it while riding my bicycle."

Comments

• redddraggon
    redddraggon Posts: 10,862
    Tubes - I'm not too sure of. I just use cheap Conti tubes.

But tyres - I've got Michelin Pro Race 2s, Conti GP 4000 (in 25mm) and Conti Ultra Sport. The PR2s are the best of my bunch. PR3s are out now, so you should have a look at them (~£20 from Ribble).
    I like bikes...

Twitter
    Flickr
  • Monty Dog
    Monty Dog Posts: 20,614
    Not another tyre thread! Please search old posts before starting another. Whilst few regale the virtues of latex tubes, many find them expensive, unreliable and leaky - so not suited for regular use - a well-talc'ed, lightweight butyl inner will probably be imperceptible in use, but holds air far better.
    Make mine an Italian, with Campagnolo on the side..
  • robbarker
    robbarker Posts: 1,367
    Whilst we're on the subject, do the panel believe that latex tubes are more susceptible to p^nct"r*s than butyl? I can live with pumping them up before a ride and am liking the way they perform.
  • pete.whelan
    pete.whelan Posts: 788
    Latex tubes should be a little more resistant to punctures, as they can deform a bit more around a sharp object