Etape 2008

I have booked with Sporting tours their Yorkshire Dales training weekend and the Etape 2008. I wondered if anybody had any or knows where i can get information on the Etape such as what the maximum time allowed is ?, And how quickly you have to get to the elimination zones ?. For instance what speed will i have to ride at if i am one of the last to be released and dont want to be eliminated ?.I have been riding for three years how and am 51 years old.I am not actually sure i can do this and am beginning to panic.I live in Norfolk so training on hills is limited. Can anyone help ?

Comments

• daowned
    daowned Posts: 414
    I think we are all still awaiting that information from the l'etape du tour website, I noticed as well that my own name isn't down in the starting list but I am sure it will all be updated soon.

I am a first time etaper myself Jonathan and like your self I would just be pleased to finish and beat the broom wagon which is a massive achievement for anyone considering the route and all the things that can go wrong.

I would recommend you get a triple chainset or a compact 50/34 12/27 to get you up the hills, I don't know how your training is going and I am no expert but if you haven't done any 100 mile rides I would get a good few in the legs then I would ride as many hill as I can at the weekend.

The Yorkshire Dales rides by Sporting Tours will probably be a baptism of fire for you as will any fast group riding if you haven't done it before, it might be a good idea to join a club for a few social rides as well to get used to group riding it will do so much for your stamina that riding on your own.

To start cycling at 48 and do a etape at 51 is quite amazing, best of luck.
  • pedylan
    pedylan Posts: 768
    Hi Jonathan. Search the forum , and this section in particular, for a variety of Etape du Tour threads.