misrable lot

Sue Wass
Sue Wass Posts: 29
edited April 2008 in Campaign
:cry:
I'm fairly new to cycling; I bought my first commuting bike about 4 years ago - one of those cheapie things from a well know 'high street' shop. then I read an article in Cycling plus (which my hubby subscribes to) about the ladies bike sold by Edingburgh cycles. I bought one and haven't looked back! (well only when manoeuvring past a stationary vehicle!)

Anyway - a couple of weeks ago I bought a ladies race cycle from edingburgh cycles - lovely bike!
had a couple of short runs (13 miles) - then Sunday just gone did a 20 miler around the local Essex countryside.

Now - I also ride two wheels with an engine and have done for many years. It is tradition amongst the motorcycling fraternity that when encountering a like minded soul approaching in the opposite direction, you give them a sort of sideways exaggerated nod and they respond likewise.
Being the sociable soul that I am I tried this on Sunday - I greeted probabaly around 15 cyclists on various parts of my route and only one yes 1 even bothered to acknowledge my existence. :?:
according to hubby they were all probably far to busy getting a bit of speed on :!:
is this true :?:
or are cyclist solitary souls :!:

Comments

• Random Vince
    Random Vince Posts: 11,374
    its quite easy to be very focused on the task at hand to notice other cyclists, and lately the weather has been a bit prohibitive to taking hands off the bars and in some cases looking around.

don't worry about it.
    My signature was stolen by a moose

that will be all

trying to get GT James banned since tuesday
  • Tom Butcher
    Tom Butcher Posts: 3,830