What frame for SHIMANO LX GROUPSET?? total newb here.

lincolnkent
lincolnkent Posts: 28
edited April 2008 in MTB buying advice
Hi, Im a mountain bike newb and would like to build my own bike from scratch, and after some research, I think my first buy will be a SHIMANO LX GROUPSET from ebay, for £160. now with the questions...

1. £160 = is that a bargain or you think its better/cheaper to get diff brands for each parts?
http://cgi.ebay.co.uk/ws/eBayISAPI.dll? ... 0187408582

2. I'm thinking about buying a second hand specialized hardrock/rockopper or gt avalanche frame - which one would you prefer?? is it ok to fit in the new lx parts into a secondhand frame, or is it better to get a brand new frame, which one then??£100 budget

I know, for a newb like me, I should just buy a new bike, but I think I'tll be more fun buying part by part, I dont know, is it just me or whatt?

thanks

Comments

• dunker
    dunker Posts: 1,503
    1. i don't think that's a very good deal as you can get the latest 580lx groupset from www.merlincycles.co.uk with lx v-brakes plus levers for £151 or a full set plus hydro brakes and wheels for £285.

2. it should'nt be a problem using a second hand frame as long as the parts you buy fit it i spose. out of those frames i guess the gt or the rockhopper? dunno i've never ridden either.

£385 for a rockhopper or gt fitted with full lx sounds good :)
  • supersonic
    supersonic Posts: 82,708
    This is not going to be easy for a total newbie, as you will need the knowledge and tools to build it too. You'll also need a saddle, bars, stem, forks, headset, tyres etc which will push the budget up a lot. Then consider what you can get for 299, like this:

http://www.chainreactioncycles.com/Mode ... elID=17829

TBH, this time round, I'd buy new from a good shop and try some out to get a feel for what you need. Most people who build them tend to do so after riding for a while.