pins and needles in hands during riding

aclarkson71
aclarkson71 Posts: 47
Hi everyone, I'm new to the biking scene and have taken to riding to and from work, approx 6 miles each way. I have ben doing this since christamas and have noticed that on the latter stages I tend to get numbness/pins and needles in my hands ( mainly the left). In all respects I'm medically fit so think that it may have something to do with my set up. Any ideas :?:

Comments

• Anonymous
    Anonymous Posts: 79,667
    Try some better grips/grip tape. You can get either of them with gel padding now, so that should ease it a bit. Also try and have a bit more give in your arms when you ride. So dont hold them straight and stiff.
  • Check your set up - MBUK have a good article this month.

Take a look at the Ergon grips. Specialized also do similar for a lot less money.

Mike
  • toasty
    toasty Posts: 2,598
    I had the same issue for ages, I ended up changing the bar, the angle of the sweep meant my hands were sat at a slightly awkward angle, putting pressure on the nerve. This was along the small finger, ring finger and palm on that side (ulnar nerve). Not a pleasant feeling, ergo grips did help a bit, the new bar helped more and I've gone back to normal grips on both bikes.

I also seem to get it to a lesser degree with some pairs gloves on, they don't feel uncomfortable, I think they just apply pressure to the wrong areas.
  • 320DMsport
    320DMsport Posts: 306
    Funny that as i get the same thing in left hand too!

Mainly my ring finger goes quite dead!

Maybe just not used to wearing that wedding ring yet!

I may try changing my grips and i tend to move my hand around more during the ride.
  • z000m
    z000m Posts: 544
    i took a rest from mtbing for 2 years and when i started again i remember i was getting pins and needles in my hands but it only lasted a few weeks.
  • KonaMike
    KonaMike Posts: 805