Sore Arse!

mattfinch
mattfinch Posts: 36
edited February 2008 in MTB beginners
Hi guys,

Noob here, just bought his first bike (GT Agressor Xc3 2008) since having one as a kid.

Been out a few times and of course loved it, it makes such a change to ride a bike because you want to, not because you have to to get around.

Anyway, i went for a 10 mile trip this weekend, and i have the most sore arse ever! (Not that i get sore arses alot you understand). Is this something i will get used to? Or saddle too hard? Ive seen these comfor gel type saddles.. but they look pretty crappy compared to the skinny sleek one on the GT... any ideas or should i persevere?

I rode on sunday, and wanted to go out again tonight, but my arse is telling me to give it a rest for a bit longer!

help, my arse needs your advice!

Thanks

Comments

• Mog Uk
    Mog Uk Posts: 964
    Were you wearing padded shorts ? If not, get a pair.

The saddle will take a while to bed in, but padded shorts make a huge difference to your comfort...
  • Good idea, anyone recommend a good pair?
  • S_J_P
    S_J_P Posts: 908
    Make sure the saddle height and angle is right to minimise the chance of set-up induced chafing :shock:

There are all sorts of setting systems, but I favor the saddle set to the height where if you pedal with your heels, your heel just about stays in contact with the pedal. Set the saddle horizontal (use a straight-edge such as a piece of wood, pipe, or ruler to get a decent sight-line) and in the centre of it's rails to start with.

Buy yourself a decent pair of padded shorts or padded boxers. You can get some DHB boxers from Wiggle for less than £10, or a pair of linered shorts from the likes of Endura etc for £40 which will do wonders for your behind.

You can also try chamois cream if you're really suffering, but this is really for pukka chafing rather than the bruising of soft bottoms :oops:
  • cee
    cee Posts: 4,553